Annual General Meeting 2017

Service and Merit Awards

2016 AGM Outcomes

Notices of Motion
Voting Regulations

2015 AGM Outcomes

YHA Wellington exteriorThe 2017 AGM will be held in Wellington at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, 55 Cable St, Te Aro, Wellington 6011 on Lambton Harbour on Saturday, 28th October 2017 from 9am.

Register Now


Friday 27th October

Guests arrive at YHA Wellington.

On Friday evening there will be a pre-AGM dinner at the Copthorne Hotel, Oriental Parade. This is just a 350m walk from the hostel. If you have registered for the Friday night dinner, please pay here.

Saturday 28th October

YHA Wellington shared roomBreakfast will be available in the kitchen at YHA Wellington for those staying in the hostel.

Members attending the AGM check out of their rooms prior to the AGM so that the cleaning staff can get to work and re-open the hostel to other guests. Luggage storage available.

A shuttle will be available to collect members and transport them to Te Papa, which is on Lambton Harbour for the Annual General Meeting. Although it is an easy 10 minute walk. Lunch will be held at Te Papa and after lunch members have the opportunity to visit at the exhibits or catch the shuttle back to the hostel.

Register Now

AGM Accommodation

Accommodation at YHA Wellington is currently on hold to allow our Honorary Life Members the opportunity to book their beds first. We will open the hostel for AGM bookings in mid-June. At this time members will be able to book their beds directly with the hostel by emailing Lisa Gebbels at or calling the hostel on 04 801 7280 Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm.

The discount offered to AGM attendees this year will be a total of 25% for Friday night only i.e. all members of YHA are entitled to a 10% discount, and then as an AGM attendee you will receive an additional 15% discount thereby bringing your total discount to 25% off the price of the bed. This discounted rate is only offered to those who register to attend the AGM and stay at YHA Wellington.

2017 Service and Merit Awards

Each year YHA formally recognises those members who have volunteered their time to the organisation by presenting service and merit awards at the AGM. Nominations for these awards may be made by National Board, a Branch Committee, a Members Group, a group of six senior financial members, or the Awards Committee.

Nominations must be received by the National Secretary and close at 12 noon on Friday 4 August 2017.

Certificate of Merit
Distinguished Service Award
Honorary Life Membership

Constitutional and General Notices of Motion

Constitutional and General Notices of Motion may be received from any Branch Committee, National Board, or a group of eight senior financial members.

All Constitutional or General Notices of Motion must be received by the National Secretary and close at 12 noon on Friday 4 August 2017.

General Notice of Motion
Constitutional Notice of Motion

Nominations for elected positions

Nominations for elected positions open on July 28 2017. All nomination papers and candidate handbook can be found at

This year there will be two National Board vacancies along with the four Honorary Vice-President vacancies.

2017 Elections Voting Regulations

As with other years the 2017 Elections will be carried out using the Single Transferable Vote system. To learn more about this system click here.

Please update your contact details and help us save some money…

Did you know that a postal vote costs YHA more than three times the cost of an electronic vote? If you have an email address please let us know so that we can use our limited budget wisely.

To update your details please contact Customer Services either via email or phone 0800 2578 299.